holdingtomorrow

our journey of hope and healing through autism

More food we love

This past week we celebrated Nathan’s birthday, so I did a bunch of extra cooking.  I made a few of my old favorites, as well as a few new recipes:

We made a yummy Spinach and Strawberry Salad.

The dressing is so good!  It’s my SIL’s recipe:

1/3 cup sugar or honey

1/3 C lemon juice
1/3 tsp mustard powder or 1 tsp prepared mustard
1 scant tsp.
1/2 cup olive oil
1/2 cup frozen orange juice concentrate
2 T. poppyseeds
Mix on highspeed in blender.  Pour onto a large bowl of spinach and strawberries.  Enjoy!
Another of our very favorite desserts-

Gluten Free Black Bean Brownies

A new favorite: Coconut Milk Cinnamon Ice Cream– so, so good!  (The balance of ingredients didn’t taste right before freezing, but once frozen, this recipe is dangerously good! )

For Hannah, I made her go-to vanilla paleo cupcakes with this yummy Cashew Frosting recipe by Detoxinista.

(adapted from The Daily Bean by Suzanne Caciola White-one of my favorite cookbooks!)

 

I also tried a new recipe-Roasted Sweet Potato Salad.  So, so delicious!  The recipe calls for rice, but I left it out because I was cooking for Hannah and I and we both aren’t eating grains.  I wish I still had more in my fridge.  Except that would be really bad for my weight loss challenge!

It was a delicious week, though I mostly 😉 ate with restraint!

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 15, 2016 by in Uncategorized.
Delightful World of Dolls

Where Dolls and Delight Collide®

Cohesive Families Of Autism

Forum For Family Preservation And Tolerance

talkingtoanonymous

rantings,ravings and thoughts of a christian mom with a son on the spectrum

holdingtomorrow

our journey of hope and healing through autism

