holdingtomorrow

our journey of hope and healing through autism

More food we love

This past week we celebrated Nathan’s birthday, so I did a bunch of extra cooking.  I made a few of my old favorites, as well as a few new recipes:

We made a yummy Spinach and Strawberry Salad.

The dressing is so good!  It’s my SIL’s recipe:

1/3 cup sugar or honey

1/3 C lemon juice
1/3 tsp mustard powder or 1 tsp prepared mustard
1 scant tsp.
1/2 cup olive oil
1/2 cup frozen orange juice concentrate
2 T. poppyseeds
Mix on highspeed in blender.  Pour onto a large bowl of spinach and strawberries.  Enjoy!
Another of our very favorite desserts-

Gluten Free Black Bean Brownies

A new favorite: Coconut Milk Cinnamon Ice Cream– so, so good!  (The balance of ingredients didn’t taste right before freezing, but once frozen, this recipe is dangerously good! )

For Hannah, I made her go-to vanilla paleo cupcakes with this yummy Cashew Frosting recipe by Detoxinista.

(adapted from The Daily Bean by Suzanne Caciola White-one of my favorite cookbooks!)

 

I also tried a new recipe-Roasted Sweet Potato Salad.  So, so delicious!  The recipe calls for rice, but I left it out because I was cooking for Hannah and I and we both aren’t eating grains.  I wish I still had more in my fridge.  Except that would be really bad for my weight loss challenge!

It was a delicious week, though I mostly 😉 ate with restraint!

 

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on June 15, 2016 by in Uncategorized.
Delightful World of Dolls

An American Girl Doll Blog

Cohesive Families Of Autism

Forum For Family Preservation And Tolerance

holdingtomorrow

our journey of hope and healing through autism