holdingtomorrow

our journey of hope and healing through autism

Sunday Thoughts: The transfiguration of Christ and what it means for me and you

DSC_0608

Last week, in Sunday School, our lesson focused on the Transfiguration of Christ.  The question was raised, why did the Transfiguration of Christ take place at that particular point in Christ’s ministry?

I found a beautiful quote from one of our past church leaders, Elder D. Haight, that explains, “He took His three apostles with Him in the belief that they, after having seen His glory—the glory of the Only Begotten of the Father—might be fortified, that their faith might be strengthened to prepare them for the insults and humiliating events which were to follow.”

The Savior invited Peter, knowing that Peter would deny him, not once, but three times.(Matt 26:69-75)

What does this mean for us?  One thing it means is that God doesn’t expect perfection before he invites us to draw close to Him.  Perfection is not a prerequisite for sharing sacred experiences with Christ.  A testimony that Jesus is the Christ does seem to be a prerequisite (Matt. 16:13-18, then Matt 17- the Transfiguration)

I remember a friend I had in highschool, Johnathon, who was also Christian.  One day, while riding the bus together, we ended up talking about whether we were saved by grace or by our works.  He was arguing for grace, and in my incomplete understanding, I was arguing that works are necessary for salvation.  I’m grateful that my understanding has grown over time; now I see that all of my works, on my own, would never be enough to redeem me.  My works are my way to show my love for the Savior, and there are very real blessings for that. The Savior loved me enough to suffer, die, and be resurrected for me. so that I can be forgiven.

I think this quote by Elder Jorg Klebingat sums up my understanding best:  “…acknowledge and face your weaknesses, but don’t be immobilized by them, because some of them will be your companions until you depart this earth life. No matter what your current status, the very moment you voluntarily choose honest, joyful, daily repentance by striving to simply do and be your very best, the Savior’s Atonement envelops and follows you, as it were, wherever you go. Living in this manner, you can truly “always retain a remission of your sins” ( Mosiah 4:12 ) every hour of every day, every second of every minute, and thus be fully clean and acceptable before God all the time.”

Beautiful indeed!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 19, 2015 by in What I believe and tagged .
Delightful World of Dolls

Where Dolls and Delight Collide®

Journey To Chaos (Our Adoption Story)

Join our family in our attempt to get bigger and louder via adoption of a sibling set in foster care.

Cohesive Families Of Autism

Forum For Family Preservation And Tolerance

talkingtoanonymous

rantings,ravings and thoughts of a christian mom with a son on the spectrum

holdingtomorrow

our journey of hope and healing through autism

