holdingtomorrow

our journey of hope and healing through autism

Hannah and Joy

 

 

My heart has been leaping with joy at Hannah’s growth lately.20141016-DSC_8654

One time lately, Hannah was being uncooperative and surly when she was home sick from school.   She later brought me in a note that’s she’d written, “I’m sorry Mom.”

Recently, Hannah spent an hour or so typing a note on the computer about going on a trip with school friends.  She had the patience to ask me how to spell a ton of words, then hunt and peck to type them- words like “Science center”, “field trip”.   “We’re going to…meet my mom at the scince center be nice to her. my dad is going to be there to night.  ”   I thought it was pretty awesome that she’d tell her friends to be nice to me, but it also makes me wonder a bit.  Why the mention of being nice to me, but not to Dad? Maybe I’m the one who’s always telling the kids to be nice?  ??? Hannah’s been writing little stories, asking me to spell the words she doesn’t know (she’s 6). In the last 5 minutes of writing, she came in and asked how to spell “curse” then a few minutes later “die” and finally “doctor”. I never found the paper this was written on, but that must have been quite the story!

Later in the evening,  at bed time we were talking about what she wants to be when she grows up and I suggested author or artist,or a mom and she got mad at me since “you can’t change jobs once you’re in them!” I’m just so proud of that girl- she is really coming into her own. Apparently, the other night when Nathan put her to bed, in her prayers, she thanked Heavenly Father that she’s “the teacher’s pet and the best student”. I guess we need to work on humility! 🙂  It’s just the most wonderful thing that she is reading, writing, spelling, creating stories, and succeeding in school and (most of the time) with friends. Thanks so much to each of you for all of your love and support.

 Hannah’s prayers have been full of gems lately too.
Last night, Hannah was full of gratitude for small things – a bed to sleep in (“Mom, what would we do if I didn’t have a bed?”).  In fact, I’m humbled almost daily by the things she gives thanks for in her prayers- her house, her Dad, that she “has the best, most wonderful, amazing teacher ever”.
 After a family home evening last month, that involved a flashlight, darkness, and a little discussion about Jesus being the light of the world, and how he teaches us how to live, Hannah prayed that she would have an open heart, full of light.
She is full of questions, and wonder.

Why don’t animals chew with their mouths closed?

Who would buy us toys if we didn’t have a mom and a dad?

 

I’m so grateful that Hannah is blossoming, and is full of joy and her future is full of possibilities.  🙂

 

One comment on “Hannah and Joy

  1. fit4fifty
    December 10, 2014

    Oh Becky, reading this brought tears to my eyes. I feel such a HUGE amount of joy in my heart when I read about Hannah and her progress. Thank you so much for sharing this with me. I love and miss ALL of you.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 10, 2014 by in biomedical, feelings, Specific Carbohydrate Diet, things to celebrate, What's Up Lately and tagged .
Delightful World of Dolls

Where Dolls and Delight Collide®

Cohesive Families Of Autism

Forum For Family Preservation And Tolerance

talkingtoanonymous

rantings,ravings and thoughts of a christian mom with a son on the spectrum

holdingtomorrow

our journey of hope and healing through autism

