holdingtomorrow

our journey of hope and healing through autism

To those who doubt

DSC_0174
You see deficits.  I see growth.
You shy away from our challenges,  I swim against their tide.
You see a diagnosis.  I see a child defying the odds.
You think of can’ts and imagine what may not happen.  I see possibilities.
You say  genetic limitations , and I see genes make proteins, that turn the cogs of the brain and body.
You imagine a plateau, I see a mountain. We will climb it together, she and I.
With every step forward, the horizon widens.
“Mommy, do grown up girls get married?”
“Yes, sweetie, girls have to be grown up before they get married.”
“I want to get married when I grow up, Mom”
“Yes, sweetie, I think you will.
I do believe you will.”

During 2014, I have had at least 3 therapists and a few friends tell me to my face “Hannah’s functioning at such a high level now, but she’s likely to struggle with social skills all her life.”  These are the same people who have seen Hannah make amazing gains in every area of functioning.  They don’t see their bias.  They don’t see that this is a “can’t” mentality.  To them, I say, “Watch us!”

*This week, the results of an informal assessment at school showed that Hannah’s social communication skills fall within the normal range.

Portrait by Becky Noblet of Tangerine Photography

2 comments on “To those who doubt

  1. Donna J. Dingwall
    May 4, 2014

    Becky, I loved reading this. You have a amazing way with words. The faith, strength and determination you have is truly an inspiration. This is the purest love from a Mother to her Child.

  2. holdingtomorrow
    May 6, 2014

    Thank you so much, Donna. 🙂 I sure appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 2, 2014 by in autism, biomedical, feelings, things to celebrate and tagged , .
Delightful World of Dolls

Where Dolls and Delight Collide®

Journey To Chaos (Our Adoption Story)

Join our family in our attempt to get bigger and louder via adoption of a sibling set in foster care.

Cohesive Families Of Autism

Forum For Family Preservation And Tolerance

talkingtoanonymous

rantings,ravings and thoughts of a christian mom with a son on the spectrum

holdingtomorrow

our journey of hope and healing through autism

