holdingtomorrow

our journey of hope and healing through autism

Book Review: The Journal of Best Practices

From time to time, I cruise the autism shelf in my local library. Recently, this book jumped out at me:

The Journal of Best Practices: A Memoir of Marriage, Asperger Syndrome, and One Man's Quest to Be a Better Husband

The Journal of Best Practices: A Memoir of Marriage, Asperger Syndrome, and One Man’s Quest to Be a Better Husband by David Finch
The author tells of how he is diagnosed with Asperger Syndrome around age 30, and sets about to make changes in himself to be a easier-to-live-with and more interactive spouse and father.
I found the book interesting, and amusing (though I have to warn you,  there is offensive language in the book).
The author does a great job sharing the inner workings of his mind and emotions.  It was fascinating to read how he managed the rigidity, sensory sensitivities and emotional overload that are often are part of Aspergers and autism.  Excluding the bad language, I really enjoyed this read, even though the author didn’t sugar coat his struggles.

While I enjoyed the book, I think it could be very controversial in the autism community. In a way, it’s one man’s journey to become more neurotypical, or to adapt himself to function more like those around him.   I, personally, admired that he recognized that he had some degree of control over how he coped with his Asperger’s related traits, and the tremendous effort he put into making his marriage work.

I think this would be a great read if you are close to someone with Asperger’s or “high functioning” autism (also a controversial label in the autism community).  Insights into another’s perspective help us be more compassionate and wise.

2 comments on “Book Review: The Journal of Best Practices

  1. Jenny
    July 17, 2013

    I read the book a few months ago. I thought about recommending it to one of the parents at my school (whose son and husband were both diagnosed with aspergers a year ago.) I wondered if she’d appreciate it… but ultimately I was unsure and due to the language, I never mentioned it. It was a reader’s choice for our local library system. (They choose about 15-20 books that librarians have enjoyed and encourage patrons to read the books and vote for which books they especially like. They keep a list of winners and many of the books are books I end up reading and enjoying…some are not.) Sure love you!

    • holdingtomorrow
      July 21, 2013

      Yeah, I really wish that it didn’t have language, otherwise, I would recommend it to anyone!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 17, 2013 by in autism, books and tagged .
Delightful World of Dolls

Where Dolls and Delight Collide®

Cohesive Families Of Autism

Forum For Family Preservation And Tolerance

talkingtoanonymous

rantings,ravings and thoughts of a christian mom with a son on the spectrum

holdingtomorrow

our journey of hope and healing through autism

