holdingtomorrow

our journey of hope and healing through autism

The Joy of Imagination

(a post written back in November that I just finished up)

Imagination with the abstract is a wonderful thing in any child.   In a child with autism, it can be a real triumph.  Hannah has never been without a sense of humor, but imagination with things that are not concrete is new for her.  I just had the most wonderful exchange with Hannah that I have to celebrate.

I was sitting with Hannah  as she was eating her bed time snack, and had a bunch of bananas.  I thought I’d squeeze in a little more therapy-play, so I put two bananas up to my head and told Hannah that they were “bug antennae”.  She took a banana, put it to her forehead and said “Unicorn”.  When I pretended the banana was a crown, Hannah returned with “The prince’s big nose” (from a story we’d been reading lately).  I said the bananas were bunny ears, and Hannah said put them up on each side of her face and said that they were “Dora’s hair”. We played back and forth a bit, but my favorite was at the end when Hannah tossed the banana on the floor, declared that it was a trampoline, and SPLAT! jumped right on it.  🙂

4 comments on “The Joy of Imagination

  1. Jenny
    February 18, 2013

    So creative! I love this! Love you all.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 18, 2013 by in things to celebrate.
Delightful World of Dolls

Where Dolls and Delight Collide®

Journey To Chaos (Our Adoption Story)

Join our family in our attempt to get bigger and louder via adoption of a sibling set in foster care.

Cohesive Families Of Autism

Forum For Family Preservation And Tolerance

talkingtoanonymous

rantings,ravings and thoughts of a christian mom with a son on the spectrum

holdingtomorrow

our journey of hope and healing through autism

