holdingtomorrow

our journey of hope and healing through autism

Love is…

*Warning- real life ahead.  This post may contain tmi!

I remember, years back, my Dad telling me that he’d learned that love is a choice, and that is a verb.

Right now, my love for my child is squeezing each individual pea out of it’s little round casing, since she can’t digest that part.  It’s spending 15 minutes cleaning the juicer after making one cup of fresh juice, so that she can get the  good stuff from raw veggies, without the fiber that her GI tract is unable to digest while it heals.  It’s learning to make kale chips, and burning my first 3 batches of beet chips.  (Maybe 4th time will be the charm)  It’s doing a fist pump when her poop comes out a nice soft log- no diarrhea, no constipation. ( Hooray! )  It is listening to inspiration long enough to realize that she wants to wear the same dress over and over (and over!) because it is one of the few things she can control.

It is amazing the things that parents will do for the love of their child.  (Did I just suggest that I’m amazing? 🙂 )  It reminds me to be grateful for the many ways my parents have blessed me, and how my Heavenly Father sacrificed his Son for me, and that all of my blessings, ultimately, come from it.  I’ve felt His guiding hand many times as I’ve been on this journey of helping my Hannah return to health and happiness.   I would gladly jettison the challenges stemming from Hannah’s autism right from my life.  But I can also see how they are providing an opportunity for me to become more patient, more compassionate, and more educated about the human body and how to help it be healthy.  It is a rough road getting there, but I can see the Lord’s hand in it.

One comment on “Love is…

  1. Jenny
    September 17, 2012

    Love you! And whether you suggested it or not, YOU ARE AMAZING!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 11, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
Delightful World of Dolls

Where Dolls and Delight Collide®

Cohesive Families Of Autism

Forum For Family Preservation And Tolerance

talkingtoanonymous

rantings,ravings and thoughts of a christian mom with a son on the spectrum

holdingtomorrow

our journey of hope and healing through autism

