holdingtomorrow

our journey of hope and healing through autism

Two new blessings

Hannah’s therapy regimen is taking an interesting twist that may be an answer to my recent prayers.

I believe that God hears our prayers, and answers them, in His own time, and His own way.  During the 10 months we waited for Hannah’s autism assessment, I prayed and prayed that Hannah wouldn’t be diagnosed with autism, for reasons that I talk more about here.  Obviously, I wasn’t given a swift miraculous “yes” in answer to that prayer.  But I have seen my prayers answered more times than I could count, so I continue to pray for Hannah’s progress and bit-by-bit healing and progressing.  Lately, I have been praying that we’ll be led to an intervention that will help Hannah with her language processing.

Hannah has made great progress in lots of areas-sleeping, in language,  social skills,  potty training,  handling sensory input, eating a variety of foods, and imaginative play. ( When I say she’s made great progress, I mean that she’s made fast progress from where she was a reletively short time ago.  She may not be caught up with peers yet, but progress is progress!)  One of the areas that has remained a big challenge is language processing- taking what someone says, figuring out what it means, and then figuring out how to put together an answer.   While Hannah can talk, her talking tends to be scripted, and it’s hard for her to answer questions-sometimes even yes or no questions.  The busier and environment, the harder the language processing becomes.  `

We work with an OT who’s energetic, creative, and supportive- I really like her.  A couple of months ago, she’d asked if her mentor could come to one of our OT sessions.  I said okay- not thinking much more about it.  A few days before the mentor came, I got an e-mail with a 15 page questionnaire to fill out. “Hmmm…I guess this is a bigger deal that I thought”.  I didn’t really know what I was getting into- but now I am so excited!  We’ve started an iLs  (Integrated Listening System) program- a music based listening program.  Hannah will listen (on special headphones) to an hour of frequency modified music an hour each day, 5 days a week.   It’s not the kind of intervention I’m naturally drawn to, but some kids with autism see lots of improvement in sensory and or language processing with it.  Stay tuned for more about it!

2 comments on “Two new blessings

  1. Donna J. Dingwall
    February 18, 2013

    Fascinating to read about. WOW (there is my wow again….lol) I am so exciting for you. HUGS!!

  2. kshendricks3
    February 18, 2013

    I can’t wait to hear more about this! Praying for you!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 21, 2012 by in Uncategorized.

Navigation

Delightful World of Dolls

Where Dolls and Delight Collide®

Journey To Chaos (Our Adoption Story)

Join our family in our attempt to get bigger and louder via adoption of a sibling set in foster care.

Cohesive Families Of Autism

Forum For Family Preservation And Tolerance

talkingtoanonymous

rantings,ravings and thoughts of a christian mom with a son on the spectrum

holdingtomorrow

our journey of hope and healing through autism

